RSS

How to reroot a doll’s head (success!)

20 Dec

Hi! I’ve just finished this laborious task. I ‘ve rerooted Natsuki’s head and I can say I’m happy with the results! =D My fingers are a bit painful, but it is worthy! This is the before (left) and the after (right)

beforeafter

Just to be clear, I haven’t changed all her hair. What I’ve done is to ‘grow’ hair in the parts where she was bald. She originally came with a pony tail, but I wanted her to wear her hair down, like Hanako does. When I untied her pony tail… bad surprise, she had lack of hair letting visible the plastic of her head =(

before

My first thought was to tie again her pony tail and deal with it, but I wasn’t happy with that. Normally, when I want something I manage to make it by myself so this time had to be the same. I did some research on the Internet and saw how other girls changed the hair of their dolls. So, why not? I decided to do it too.

I have to say that this is not difficult, but it’s laborious and requires time. I’ve spent about 6 or 7 hours to complete the job. Would I go it again? Yes, I really love Natsuki with her new look ^^

If you are undecided about wether you should do, here I teach you the steps for a successful rerooting!

First of all, you’ll need the hair you want to implant to your dolly, scissors, a big needle, pliers and glue. As you have seen in a previous photo, Natsuki’s hair was very long so I cut it and used this same hair for the implants.

need

I also added a lock of purple hair =) I used this

SAM_1177

Also, if you find it difficult to pop out the head, you’ll need to heat it first. In this case, dip your doll’s head in a glass of boiling water until the head becomes squishy. To do so, cover the head with a small gauze and introduce it in a plastic bag. I needed around 5 minutes to get the head squishy enough.

reroot1

Be careful now because some of the mechanisms they have are a bit strange. If you have a Bratz Baby, this is what you will find

reroot2

In this picture, the right line is almost done.

reroot5

This is how I got there:

1. Take a lock of hair. Don’t take too much as it will be difficult to pass all that hair through the hole of her head. Don’t take too little as you will need to implant more locks to have the head complete.

2. Thread the needle with the hair. It is easier if you twist the hair before. Then tie a knot and add some glue to avoid unpleasant issues.

3. Take the head of your doll and choose where do you want to implant that lock. Open the hole with the needle.

4. Pass the needle through the neck of your doll and look for the hole where you want to ‘grow’ this hair.

steps (1)

Some locks later, the second line was finished, but Natsuki still had some bald parts. I went on implanting more hair all over her hair

reroot11

Finally, crosslink the hair from both lines to obtain no visible plastic.

reroot12

Voilà! She is done! =D She looks beautiful now and it will be easier for me to create hats for her =P

result

Natsuki is also very happy with her new style and she is already asking for new outfits. I better get down to work!

My big question now is: after so much touching her hair, should I wash i? And if so, how? I am a bit scared of damaging her hair with the soap or drying it wrong. Any advice?

happynatsuki

Thanks for visiting and see you soon!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 20, 2012 in How to..., Natsuki

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
