RSS

How it started

27 Nov

When Hanako arrived, the only fabric I had at home were colourful pieces of felt, so that is how I started making outfits for her. I remember when I was a child making clothes for my doll’s and my sister’s with very simple patterns. Also, I learnt crochet and then made some hats and some other dresses for our dolls. Since then, I haven’t make any other kind of clothing, but I have continued my love for sewing making lots of brooches and stuff with felt ♥

As I was saying, I only had felt at the moment and really wanted to create something for her, so there I went: my first costume in felt =) It was inspired on Alice in Wonderland.

Alice in Wonderland

This dress is really easy to do. Once I managed to draw the pattern it was a piece of cake =D Also, if you make it in felt, as you don’t have to hem, is very quick. On my next tutorial I will show you what pattern did I use and how with some small changes it can result in different outfits!

Hanako in Wonderland

When this one was finished I got hooked, and wanted another one. Then I continued with another costume, this time was SnowWhite’s turn.

SnowWhite

This one was also quite simple and easy to do. Both are made with a similar pattern, just adjusting how big or narrow do you want the skirt and the lenght of it. In order to add more variety, you can also use different kinds of fabric and the results will be awesome. Those two pictures below were also made out of the ‘Alice’ pattern. I added some lace, a nice hat and some other details and she looks very cute. I got the fabric from some clothes of my chilhood, lovely memories =P

Lion dress

Next Sunday I will show you what pattern did I use and you’ll see how easy it is! Then add your imagination, include beads, ribbons, whatever you think off and create a new one ^^  I am willing to see your creations!

See you soon!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 27, 2012 in The story

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “How it started

  1. mc

    November 29, 2012 at 09:21

    I love your dresses! could you perhaps publish the pattern?

    Me encantan tus vestiditos! besos!

     
    • ilovemyddung

      November 29, 2012 at 10:37

      Muchas gracias!! =)

      Of course, I will. I plan to post new patterns every Sunday, so next Sunday you will find the patterns I used to make this dresses. Why on Sunday? Because I’m working full time during the week and need some time to prepare them =P I hope you enjoy my blog and look forward to see your creations!

      Besos! ^^

       
  2. mc

    December 1, 2012 at 17:46

    Looking forward for Sunday!

     

Leave a Reply

 
