RSS

How to make a dungaree for your mini Ddung

25 Nov

We are going live! This is my first post and I am going to start with this. So far, everything I’ve made for her were dresses but I want her to have more variety. I love this kind of clothing but found it difficult to make… so I decided to give it a try to see what happens! It didn’t come out too badly! =P

Hanako with her new dungaree

First of all, it was time of improving my technic. Just wrapping my doll with paper and draw over it was not a good idea any more. I draw her small body in a piece of paper and measure her. Definitely I can say now that it was very useful. You can find this information in the ‘Doll measurements’ section.

Once I did this, I took another piece of paper and started drawing the different pieces that make up the dungaree. This time I didn’t use my doll at all. I have to say that drawing the pattern this time was much easier that for the other outfits, contrary of what I thought first. Measures are in centimetres (click to enlarge):

Dungaree pattern

As mini Ddung is so ‘mini’ you don’t need a very big piece of fabric, even if you do not have enough fabric of the same type you can combine several scratches😉. In future post I will show you what kind of fabrics do I use. This time I used this small rectangle, all the pieces fit perfectly:Fabric needed

Now arrives the fun part! Transfer the model into the fabric, cut the pieces and start sewing.Messing around

Remember to add extra fabric to the pattern as you will need to hem, make sure to add enough fabric to fold. Remember also the extra fabric to attach the button😉

When ready, baste the different parts, check everything is correct and sew the permanent stitches.

This is how I baste the bib:

The bib

And these are the long strap for the waist and the hem of one of the legs:

Parts of the outfit

After basting, apply the definitive stitches. In this case I use purple thread and try to make small stitches of the same size. I don’t have a sewing machine so the outfit it’s totally handmade. Be patient! =)

Here you can see the small purple stitches, keep in mind that this need to be completed with another row. There should be no spaces between stitches, just a purple line. When finished, removed the baste (the pink thread in my case).Small stitches

Once I have the individual parts ready, I begin joining the different parts. Here I messed up a bit and that’s why I don’t have any photo =P Now I’ve learned that it’s easier if you sew in first place the front part of the legs (the part that adjust the belly), then sew the long strap to the upper part of the legs and finally you sew the inner part of the legs so you end up with the two cylinder for the legs. You don’t have to sew the bottom part as we will use a button or velcro to close it.

Last steps, yayyy

As you will see in the above picture, I used a black button and a black ribbon for the suspenders. I didn’t mention it in the patterns, the ribbons are 3 cm long the visible part plus 1 cm in each edge, so I used a total of 10 cm of black ribbon.

How was it? Could you finish? Voilà!

Her new outfit is ready =D Do you like it? Do you have any difficulties?

Voila

 I will answer in the comments. See you soon! =D

 
9 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2012 in How to...

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to “How to make a dungaree for your mini Ddung

  1. Jane Easterly

    November 28, 2012 at 02:29

    Very detailed instructions!

     
    • ilovemyddung

      November 28, 2012 at 08:24

      Thanks Jane! I try to explain it as best as possible so I can help other people making their own =) I will be posting a new one on Sunday. I hope you enjoy it! ^^

       
  2. La prima

    November 29, 2012 at 18:23

    Me encanta el pantaloncillo! y el resto de vestiditos son una preciosidad. Yo tengo dos ddung, una normal y otra mini, gracias a La Amiga e Ilustradora de Princesas que me aficionó a este tipo de muñecas.
    Ya ví que te has dado una vueltecita por Cosas de Mafaldillas, así que me he pasado a devolverte la visita. Encantada de ciber-conocerte.

     
    • ilovemyddung

      November 29, 2012 at 20:38

      Gracias por pasarte! Me alegro que te haya gustado, la verdad es que estoy empezando con el blog y los comentariso animan mucho =)

      Espero que te decidas a hacerle un vestidito a tu Ddung! Encantada de conocerte =)

       
  3. barbielea

    December 2, 2012 at 10:28

    Very impressed. Its so hard to make doll clothes for tiny little dolls, I’ve tried a couple of times but Its never worked out. Its hard to tell as I’ve never seen one before, but it looks like your Ddung is about Barbie Kelly size? I have a few of these and some are in dire need of clothes, so I might try it! Best wishes🙂

     
    • ilovemyddung

      December 2, 2012 at 12:39

      Hi Barbielea!
      I don’t have any Kelly, so I’m not sure what her size is but I read somewhere that clothes for Kelly fits on Ddung, so yeah, you could try! =) The total height of mini Ddung is 11 cm, 6 cm from the floor to the shoulder and 3 cm from the floor to the hips. Soon I will add all the measures of this doll in the ‘Doll measurements’ section, it may help you out with your clothes.

      If you finally manage to make something with my patterns, I would love to see it =)

      I will be adding new patterns every Sunday, just posted a new one right now. I hope you find it useful! Good luck and thanks for visiting.

       
  4. Nina Gray

    January 16, 2013 at 04:56

    I am definitely trying this!

     
    • ilovemyddung

      January 25, 2013 at 23:35

      Let us see the results when this is finished! =D

       

Leave a Reply

 
